View RESTORE Act: Announcement of Funding Opportunities; Workforce Development and Job Creation among Eligible Activities

Under the Resources and Ecosystems Sustainability, Tourist Opportunities, and Revived Economies of the Gulf Coast States Act of 2012 (RESTORE Act), Subtitle F of P.L. 112-141, the Gulf Coast Restoration Trust Fund (Trust Fund) was established in the Treasury of the United States. Eighty percent of the civil penalties paid after July 6, 2012, under the Federal Water Pollution Control Act in connection with the

Deepwater Horizon oil spill will be deposited into the Trust Fund and invested. The RESTORE Act created five components through which funds will be disbursed.

The fund has announced three funding opportunities on January 17; the solicitations are available through the “Opportunity Number” on

Screenshot of funding opportunities on

Trust Fund amounts are available to carry out eligible activities described in the RESTORE Act. These are:

1. Restoration and protection of the natural resources, ecosystems, fisheries, marine and wildlife habitats, beaches and coastal wetlands of the Gulf Coast region.

2. Mitigation of damage to fish, wildlife, and natural resources.

3. Implementation of a federally approved marine, coastal, or comprehensive conservation management plan, including fisheries monitoring.

4. Workforce development and job creation.

5. Improvements to or on State parks located in coastal areas affected by the Deepwater Horizon oil spill.

6. Infrastructure projects benefitting the economy or ecological resources,including port infrastructure.

7. Coastal flood protection and related infrastructure.

8. Planning assistance.

9. Administrative costs.

10. Promotion of tourism in the Gulf Coast region, including recreational fishing.

11. Promotion of the consumption of seafood harvested from the Gulf Coast region.


Eligible applicants are specified by the RESTORE Act and regulations at 31 C.F.R. Part 34. Only the following entities may apply for funding under this announcement:


1. The Alabama Gulf Coast Recovery Council or such administrative agent as it may designate.

2. The Florida counties of Bay, Charlotte, Citrus, Collier, Dixie, Escambia, Franklin, Gulf, Hernando, Hillsborough, Jefferson, Lee, Levy, Manatee,

Monroe, Okaloosa, Pasco, Pinellas, Santa Rosa, Sarasota, Taylor, Wakulla, and Walton.

3. The Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority Board of Louisiana through the Coastal Protection and Restoration Authority of Louisiana;

4. The Louisiana parishes of Ascension, Assumption, Calcasieu, Cameron,

Iberia, Jefferson, Lafourche, Livingston, Orleans, Plaquemines, St. Bernard,

St. Charles, St. James, St. John the Baptist, St. Martin, St. Mary, St.

Tammany, Tangipahoa, Terrebonne, and Vermilion.

5. The Mississippi Department of Environmental Quality.

6. The Office of the Governor of the State of Texas, or an appointee of the Office of the Governor.